# From Your Commission

By April Aymami Industry Affairs Director

# 2018 CAC General Election Results and A Newly Elected Executive Committee

n November 13, 2018, the California Department of Food and Agriculture announced the results of the California Avocado Commission's (CAC) recently concluded 2018 General Election and seated the new board members for commencement of the 2018-19 CAC fiscal year. The CAC Board consists of 19 members and alternates, of which 15 are producers representing the five growing districts throughout California (10 members and five alternates), three are handlers representing operations that handle at least 1 percent of the California crop (two members and one alternate), and one public member who is appointed by the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA). Board members and alternates are elected for two-year terms, with half of the producer and handler member seats up for election annually. Producer and handler alternate member seats are elected in odd years.

Below is a summary of the results of the 2018 CAC General Election. A listing of the full Board of Directors can be found on page 5. Please take note of who the current commissioners are that represent your district. If you are unsure of which district your grove resides in, please contact the Commission or locate your city/zip code on the following

chart: www.californiaavocadogrowers. com/commission/district-map

In addition to CAC's annual election, each year the newly seated board takes up the task of electing the Commission's Executive Committee at their November meeting. The following individuals have been elected to serve as the Commission's Executive Committee for the term ending October 31, 2019:

Chairman: John Lamb

Vice Chair: Ohannes Karaoghlanian

Treasurer: Rob Grether Secretary: Jessica Hunter

#### **District 1:**

2-Year Member Seat Member: Jessica Hunter

#### District 2:

2-Year Member Seat Member: Charley Wolk

# **District 3:**

2-Year Member Seat Member: John Lamb

#### District 4:

2-Year Member Seat Member: Ed McFadden

# District 5:

2-Year Member Seat Member: Salvador Dominguez

# Handlers:

2-Year Member Seat & 1-Year Member Seat 2-Year Member: Gary Caloroso, Giumarra 1-Year Member: Peter Shore, Calavo