2016 CAC General Election Results and a Look at the 2016-17 CAC Board of Directors

By April Aymami

Industry Affairs Manager

ou may have noticed that the 2016 CAC General Election materials looked a bit different than previous years. Due to redistricting and changes made to the CAC law to reduce the number of alternates, some districts saw fewer seats on the ballots, while other districts saw more than they normally would. Despite the variance among district ballots, when the full CAC Board assembled in November for its first meeting of the year, each of the five districts was represented by three producers (two members and one alternate), for a total of

15 producers. In addition to the 15 producer seats, the industry is currently represented by six handlers (four members and two alternates), along with one public member, resulting in a CAC Board composition of 22 members and alternates.

The newly elected commissioners were seated at the regular meeting of the CAC Board on November 17, 2016 where the following individuals were then elected to serve on the Commission's Executive Committee for the term ending October 31, 2017:

Chairman: Rick Shade

Vice Chair: Kellen Newhouse

Treasurer: Art Bliss Secretary: Jason Cole On the next page is a summary of the results of the 2016 CAC General Election. In addition, we have also provided a complete photo roster of the 22-member 2016-17 CAC Board of Directors on the pages that follow. Please take note of who the current Commissioners are that represent your district. If you are unsure of which district your grove resides in, please contact the Commission or locate your city/zip code on the following chart: www.californiaavocadogrowers.com/commission/district-map



2016 CAC General Election Results

District 1

Member (2-Year Term): Jessica Hunter

District 2

Member (2-Year Term): Leo McGuire

District 3

Member (2-Year Term): John Lamb Member (1-Year Term): Art Bliss Alternate (1-Year Term): Robert Grether

District 4

Member (2-Year Term): Ed McFadden Member (1-Year Term): Jason Cole Alternate (1-Year Term): Bryce Bannatyne

District 5

Member (2-Year Term): Rick Shade

Handlers

Member (2-Year Term): Egidio "Gene" Carbone, Calavo Member (2-Year Term): Robb Bertels, Mission Produce

District 1



John Burr Member Grove Location: Escondido Term Ends: 2017



Jessica Hunter Member Grove Location: Valley Center Term Ends: 2018



Ryan Rochefort
Alternate
Grove Location: Valley Center
Term Ends: 2017

District 2



Kellen Newhouse (Vice Chair)

Member

Grove Location: Fallbrook
Term Ends: 2017



Leo McGuire Member Grove Location: Temecula Term Ends: 2018



Ohannes Karaoghlanian Alternate Grove Location: Temecula Term Ends: 2017

District 3



Art Bliss (Treasurer)
Member
Grove Location: Somis
Term Ends: 2017



John Lamb Member Grove Location: Somis Term Ends: 2018



Robert Grether Alternate Grove Location: Somis Term Ends: 2017

District 4



Jason Cole (Secretary) Member Grove Location: Santa Paula Term Ends: 2017



Ed McFadden Member Grove Location: Fillmore Term Ends: 2018



Bryce Bannatyne
Alternate
Grove Location: Fillmore
Term Ends: 2017

District 5



Jim Swoboda Member Grove Location: Goleta Term Ends: 2017



Rick Shade (Chairman)
Member
Grove Location: Carpinteria
Term Ends: 2018



Tyler Cobb Alternate Grove Location: Goleta Term Ends: 2017

Handlers



Steve Taft Member Company: Eco Farms Corporation Term Ends: 2017



Gary Caloroso Member Company: Giumarra Companies Term Ends: 2017



Gary Clevenger Alternate Company: Harvest Time/Freska Term Ends: 2017



Egidio "Gene" Carbone Member Company: Calavo Growers, Inc. Term Ends: 2018



Robb Bertels Member Company: Mission Produce, Inc. Term Ends: 2018



Donny Lucy Alternate Company: Del Rey Avocado Company, Inc. Term Ends: 2018

