By April Aymami Industry Affairs Director

CAC Kicks Off 2022-23 Fiscal Year Seating New Board Members and Executive Officers

n October 2022, the California Avocado Commission conducted its annual election of board officers. The CAC Board consists of 19 members and alternates, of which 15 are producers representing the five growing districts throughout California (10 members and five alternates), three are handlers representing operations that handle at least 1% of the California crop (two members and one alternate), and a public member who is appointed by the California Department of Food and Agriculture. Board members and alternates are elected for two-year terms, with half of the producer and handler member seats up for election annually. In odd years, alternate producer and alternate handler member seats also are up for election. For the 2022 General

Election, one producer member seat was available in each of the five districts, as well as one handler member.

On November 17, 2022, the CFDA announced the results of CAC's 2022 General Election and seat-

2022 General Election and seated the new board members for commencement of the 2022-23 CAC fiscal year. To the right is a summary of the results of the election, with elected members serving a two-year term (November 1, 2022 through October 31, 2024). A listing of the full Board of Directors can be found on page five. Please take note of who the current Commissioners are who represent your district. If you are unsure of which district your grove resides in, please

contact the Commission or locate your city/zip code on the following chart: CaliforniaAvocadoGrowers.com/commission/district-map.

Affiliation	Member
District 1	Jessica Hunter
District 2	John Cornell
District 3	Maureen Cottingham
District 4	Rachael Laenen
District 5	Will Carleton
Handler	Gary Caloroso

In addition to CAC's annual election, each November the newly seated board members conduct an election among their producer members to fill the seats of the Commission's Executive Committee. The following individuals have been re-elected to serve as the Commission's Executive Committee for the term ending October 31, 2023.





Rachael Laenen Vice-Chair



Jason Cole Treasurer



Jessica Hunter Secretary