From Your Commission

By April Aymami Industry Affairs Director

Results of the 2020 CAC General Election and Election of Board Officers

n November 19, 2020, the California Department of Food and Agriculture announced the results of the California Avocado Commission's recently concluded 2020 General Election and seated the new board members for commencement of the 2020-21 CAC fiscal year.

The CAC Board consists of 19 members and alternates, of which 15 are producers representing the five growing districts throughout California (10 members and five alternates), three are handlers representing operations that handle at least 1% of the California crop (two members and one alternate), and one public member who is appointed by the CDFA. Board members and alternates are elected for two-year terms, with half of the producer and handler member seats up for election annually. Alternate producer and alternate handler member seats are elected in odd years. For the 2020 General Election

one member was elected to each of the five districts, as well as the handler affiliation.

In the box below is a summary of the results of the 2020 CAC General Election. Elected members shall serve a two-year term (November 1, 2020 through October 31, 2022). A listing of the full Board of Directors can be found on Page 8. Please take note

of who the current Commissioners are that represent your district. If you are unsure of which district your grove resides in, please contact the Commission or locate your city/zip code at CaliforniaAvocadoGrowers.com/commission/district-map.

In addition to CAC's annual election, each year the newly seated board



takes up the task of electing the Commission's Executive Committee at their November meeting. The individuals elected to serve as the Commission's Executive Committee for the term ending October 31, 2021 also are noted in the box below.

2020 CAC General Election Results

District 1 Member: Jessica Hunter

District 2 Member: John Cornell*

District 3 Member: John Lloyd-Butler*

District 4 Member:Rachael Kimball Laenen

District 5 Member: Andrew Prechtl

Handler Member: Gary Caloroso, Giumarra 2020-21 Executive Committee:

Chairman: Robert Grether
Vice Chair: Ryan Rochefort
Treasurer: Jason Cole
Secretary: Jessica Hunter

*With previous alternates assuming member seats in District 2 and District 3, there now exist vacancies for alternate seats in these two districts.

These vacancies will be filled by a majority vote of the Board at an upcoming Commission Board meeting.