Commission Reduces 2020-21 Assessment Rate and Seats New Board and Officers

  • Nov 23, 2020

At the October 7, 2020 meeting, the California Avocado Commission Board of Directors took action to approve the assessment rate for the upcoming 2020-21 fiscal year, reducing the assessment rate to 1.75% of the gross dollar value of fruit sold. The new assessment rate is effective from November 1, 2020 through October 31, 2021. The CAC Board and management are committed to prudently managing growers’ assessment dollars, with the current rate reflecting a quarter percent reduction from the 2019-20 assessment rate of 2.00% and more than one-half a percent reduction from the 2018-19 assessment rate of 2.30%. During these past two years, despite the reduction in assessment rate, a larger percentage of the budget has been allocated toward marketing activities, with 2020-21 representing the highest allocation ever at more than 70% of the total budget. We thank the outgoing 2019-20 CAC Board, under the direction of Chairman John Lamb, for their work to build balanced budgets and prioritize spending.

The California Department of Food and Agriculture seated newly elected California Avocado Commission board members at the Commission’s November 19, 2020 board meeting. The following new members shall serve a two-year term (November 1, 2020 through October 31, 2022).

District 1 Member: Jessica Hunter (Re-elected; existing District 1 Member)
District 2 Member: John Cornell (New Member; previously District 2 Alternate)*
District 3 Member: John Lloyd-Butler (New Member; previously District 3 Alternate)*
District 4 Member: Rachael Kimball Laenen (New Member)
District 5 Member: Andrew Prechtl (New Member)
Handler Member: Gary Caloroso, Giumarra (Re-elected; existing Handler Member)

*With previous alternates assuming member seats in District 2 and District 3, there now exist vacancies for alternate seats in these two districts. These vacancies will be filled by a majority vote of the board at an upcoming Commission board meeting.

The following newly elected Executive Officers shall serve a one-year term (November 1, 2020 through October 31, 2021).

Chairman – Rob Grether, District 3 Member

Vice-Chairman – Ryan Rochefort, District 1 Member

Treasurer – Jason Cole, District 4 Member

Secretary – Jessica Hunter, District 1 Member

The above newly elected Executive Officers shall serve a one-year term (November 1, 2020 through October 31, 2021).

Share This Post: