Commission Networks with Key California Industry Members at Dinner Dance

  • Feb 09, 2018

The Fresh Produce and Floral Council (FPFC) Annual Dinner Dance took place at the Disney Grand California Resort on January 27, 2018. As the primary entertainment sponsor, the California Avocado Commission (CAC) received top billing with the Commission’s logo showcased on the event invitation, on the program, on signage throughout the resort as well as verbal mention during the presentation. The California Avocado Commission logo also appeared on signage in the lobby and alongside a California avocado product shot in the event slide show.

The Commission was honored to host Sheryl Salazar, assistant sales manager for Albertsons-Vons, at the event where more than 510 industry stakeholders gathered to enjoy an evening of live music, dinner and dancing. Throughout the evening, Commission staff had the opportunity to network with retailers, wholesalers, foodservice operators and suppliers from Northern and Southern California. A popular topic of conversation was the expected higher volume and extended season for 2018. CAC representatives mingled with Lee Groon, Albertsons-Vons; Brian Balladares, Produce Merchandising and Dan Moore, Produce Marketing Director, Ralphs Grocery Company; David Martus, Produce Merchandising, Stater Bros. Markets; Senior Produce Buyer, John Fujii, Gelson’s Markets; John Savidan, Produce Director, Bristol Farms; Will Miller, V.P. Produce & Floral and Kent Kuwata, Smart & Final; Greg Corrigan, V.P. Produce Marketing, Michael Schutt, Produce Merchant, Raley’s; and Alfonso Cano, Produce Director, Northgate Gonzalez Markets.

CAC’s Retail Marketing Director Connie Stukenberg — who served as the 2017 FPFC Chair of the Board — officially passed the gavel to 2018 Chair of the Board Alfonso Cano. Connie will continue to serve on the FPFC Board and Executive Committee as FPFC Past Chair of the Board.

Sheryl Salazar, Assistant Sales Manager for Albertsons-Vons and Lee Groon of Albertsons-Vons joined Commission members at their table.

Connie Stukenberg, 2017 FPFC Board Chair passed the gavel to 2018 Board Chair Alfonso Cano.

Share This Post: