CAC and Packers to Host Produce Safety Alliance Trainings – REGISTRATION REQUIRED

  • Dec 14, 2018

The second deadline for growers under the Food Safety Modernization Act’s (FSMA) Produce Safety Rule is January 26, 2019. Accordingly, any farming operation with more than $250,000 in average annual produce sales during the previous three-year period must be ready to demonstrate compliance (all deadlines are listed below). A major compliance requirement of the FSMA Produce Safety Rule is outlined in § 112.22(c) that states: 'At least one supervisor or responsible party for your farm must have successfully completed food safety training at least equivalent to that received under standardized curriculum recognized as adequate by the Food and Drug Administration. Growers or farm representatives must go through a one-time 8-hour Produce Safety Alliance training or equivalent.

The California Avocado Commission (CAC) has provided information on upcoming Produce Safety Alliance trainings, but these trainings have in many instances sold out very quickly and/or are costly. To help avocado growers and related industry members comply with the mandatory Produce Safety Alliance training, CAC, in partnership with California avocado handlers*, has scheduled two Produce Safety Alliance trainings exclusively for California avocado growers for a very modest fee of $35 (fee includes refreshments, lunch, training materials, and the official training certificate from the Association of Food and Drug Officials).

The following two avocado industry Produce Safety Alliance trainings have been scheduled:

A major portion of the cost for this training is being underwritten by CAC and California avocado packers*. As such, this is exclusive to California avocado producers, California avocado grove managers, and California avocado packing representatives.

It’s important to note that the training follows the person — if a designated food safety employee who receives the training leaves your company, another employee will need to be trained. Even if your business is under the $500,000 threshold, you will still be required to complete this one-time training within the next two years. CAC encourages you to sign up now and get the training requirement done as soon as possible. Seating is limited.

Produce Safety Rule deadlines for all producers:

  • January 26, 2020 deadline for very small businesses — more than $25,000 but no more than $250,000 in average annual produce sales during the previous three-year period
  • January 26, 2019 deadline for small businesses — more than $250,000 but no more than $500,000 in average annual produce sales during the previous three-year period
  • January 26, 2018 deadline for all other farms

*CAC would like to thank the following packers for their generous contributions in support of these Produce Safety Alliance trainings: Calavo, Del Rey, Eco Farms, Giumarra, Henry Avocado, Index Fresh, McDaniel Fruit, Mission, West Pak, Westfalia.

Share This Post: