From Your Commission

By April Aymami Industry Affairs Director

2017 CAC General Election Results and a Newly Elected Executive Committee

his past fall, the California Avocado Commission (CAC) saw the last of its modernization efforts unfold through its annual election of the Board of Directors. The CAC Board, once 29 members in size (including alternates), stood at 22 members in 2016-17 through the reduction of seven alternate member seats. In 2017-18, the board size has been further reduced by two handler members and one alternate handler member, resulting in a board composition of 19 members and alternates, consisting of 15 producers (10 members/five alternates), three handlers (two members/one alternate) and one public member. In addition to the changes in board composition, CAC's

voter base has also evolved, going from nearly 4,000 growers in 2016 to just over 2,000 for the 2017 election, as a result of the implementation of the new producer exemption. These final changes to the Commission were a direct result of the board's action from nearly two years ago to streamline the Board of Directors while positioning the organization to provide the resources necessary to ensure the viability of the state's commercial growers now and into the future.

Below is a summary of the results of the 2017 CAC General Election. A listing of the full Board of Directors can be found on page 5. Please take note of the current commissioners who represent your district. If you are unsure

which district your grove resides in, please contact the Commission or locate your city/zip code on the following chart: Californiaavocadogrowers.com/commission/district-map.

The newly elected commissioners were seated at the regular meeting of the CAC Board on November 16, 2017, where the following individuals were then elected to serve on CAC's Executive Committee for the term ending October 31, 2018.

Chairman: Rick Shade Vice Chair: Tyler Cobb Treasurer: Robert Grether Secretary: Jessica Hunter

District 1:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Member: Ryan Rochefort Alternate: Michael Perricone

District 2:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Member: Ohannes (Onnig) Karaoghlanian Alternate: Bob Schaar

District 3:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Member: Robert Grether Alternate: John Lloyd-Butler

District 4:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Member: Jason Cole Alternate: Bryce Bannatyne, Jr.

District 5:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Member: Tyler Cobb Alternate: Randy Douglas

Handlers:

Elected to 2-Year Term, Ending 2019 Alternate: Gary Caloroso, Giumarra